A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Johann Christian Bach
1735 - 1782
Picture Picture
J.C. Bach
Johann Christian Bach (05/09/1735 - 01/01/1782), a German/English composer, born in Leipzig, Germany, worked for a lot of years in London and died there. He is the youngest son of Johann Sebastian Bach and Anna Magdalena Bach. His nick-name: "the London Bach".
Source:Grove’s dictionary of music and musicians
Messa de' morti / Missa da Requiem
Composed in:1757c
Musical form:fragments
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Label(s):Channel Classics 18198
Harmonia Mundi HMC 902098
Introïtus und Kyrie der Totenmesse T.208, no.5 in F major
Messa de' morti (W.E11 in F gr.t.) is for 8 voices and orchestra. It contains:
- Requiem
- Te decet hymnus
- Kyrie
"Introitus" and "Kyrie" are extant as a pair, although they may originally have existed as separate entities; may have been intended, along with an 8-pt. "Dies irae", as part of a projected complete requiem for double chorus, to be realized in stages over a period of time.
From the late 17th century onwards, mainly through the contributions of leading opera composers such as Feo, Galuppi, Hasse, Pergolesi, Jommelli, Gassmann, Cimarosa and Gossec, individual movements of the requiem became gradually larger, the orchestration richer and the solo vocal writing more elaborate. In some cases, single texts, usually the 'sequence' and the 'responsory', were set separately, either as independent motets or as a means of providing vivid contrast within chanted forms of the funeral service. Examples include an impressive Dies irae for soloists, double chorus and orchestra by Lully (1684); and one with similar scoring by J.C. Bach (1757).
Author:Steven Chang-Lin Yu
Missa da Requiem in B flat major (W.E11 in F gr.t.) contains:
01. Introitus: Requiem Aeternam
02. Kyrie (5:31)

♫ 01. Introitus: Requiem aeternam
© Harmonia Mundi HMC 902098
Source:booklet of cd HMC 902098
Contributor:Pentti Ruokonen
Dies Irae
Composed in:1760c
Musical form:motet
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Label(s):Harmonia Mundi HMC 902098
Dies Irae (W.E12 in c kl.t.) contains:
01. Sequenz - Dies Irae (3:00)
02. Quantus Tremor (3:18)
03. Tuba Mirum (3:18)
04. Mors Stupebit (2:42)
05. Quid Sum Miser (2:28)
06. Rex Tremendae (2:18)
07. Juste Judex Ultionis (2:12)
08. Ingemisco (3:43)
09. Qui Mariam Absolvisti (4:24)
10.Confutatis Maledictis (1:53)
11.Ora Supplex (1:57)
12.Lacrimosa (5:59)

♫ 04. Mors Stupebit
© Harmonia Mundi HMC 902098
Source:booklet of cd HMC 902098
Contributor:Pentti Ruokonen