A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
John Herbert Foulds
1880 - 1939
Great Britain, England
J.H. Foulds
John Foulds (02/11/1880 - 24/04/1939), an English composer. He was born in Manchester, Greater Manchester, NW England, UK. Largely self-taught, he played cello in the Halle Orchestra under Richter, who premiered his Cello Concerto (1911). From 1915 he became fascinated with oriental, especially Indian, music, and absorbed Eastern and Western styles in a remarkable fusion. In 1935 he emigrated to India, where he died from cholera. His major works include World requiem (1921), a tone poem April-England (1926--32), Mantras for orchestra (1930), and other chamber, orchestral, vocal, and piano pieces.
World requiem
Composed in:1921
Musical form:free
In memory of:all victims of World War I
Label(s):Chandos CHSA 5058 (2)
This World requiem, opus 60, is for soli, chorus, organ and orchestra. It contains:

Part 1:
- Requiem
- Pronuntiatio
- Confessio
- Jubilatio
- Audite
- Pax
- Consolatio
- Refutatio
- Lux Veritatis
- Requiem

Deel 2
- Laudamus
- Elysium
- In Pace – Hymn of the Redeemed
- Angeli
- Vox Dei
- Adventus
- Vigilate
- Promissio et invocatio
- Benedictus
- Consummatus
Among the settings commemorating the dead of the two world wars are John Foulds’s World requiem (1919–21) and Britten’s War requiem (1961).
Author:Steven Chang-Lin Yu
Foulds wrote many orchestral, chamber, instrumental and choral works of very different stamp. Few were printed in his lifetime; a notable exception being the huge World requiem, (1919-21), in memory of the Great War dead of all nations. This was performed at the Royal Albert Hall on successive Armistice Nights, 1923-26, by up to 1,200 singers and players under the composer's direction.