A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Zdeněk Fibich
1850 - 1900
Czech Republic
Z. Fibich
Zdeněk Fibich (21/12/1850 - 15/10/1900), a Czech composer, born in Všebořice (Šebořice) near Čáslav. He wrote classical music, including chamber works (including two string quartets, a piano trio, piano quartet and a quintet for piano, strings and winds), symphonic poems, three symphonies, at least seven operas, the most famous probably Šárka and The Bride of Messina; melodramas including the substantial trilogy Hippodamia, liturgical music including a mass - a missa brevis; and a large cycle (almost 400 pieces, from the 1890s) of piano works called Moods, Impressions, and Reminiscences among other works. The piano cycle served as a diary of sorts of his love for a piano pupil.
Composed in:1874
Musical form:fragment
Text/libretto:Latin mass
No details available.
Source:Robert Chase, Dies Irae: A Guide to Requiem Music, Scarecrow Press, Inc. 2003