A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Sergei Mikhailovich Slonimsky
1932 -
S.M. Slonimsky
Sergei Mikhailovich Slonimsky (12/08/1932), is a Russian and Soviet composer, pianist and musicologist (from Leningrad).
Period:21st century
Composed in:2003
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This Requiem is for Choir and Symphony Orchestra. The Requiem dates 2003. This grand canvas is distinct from the numerous similar compositions of this genre. It happens because of the text order, which is changed in comparison with the canonic ecclesiastic one. The music history witnessed the cases of this genre's (established in the 14th century) free interpretation. Remember the requiems by Ochegem, Orlando Lasso and their contemporaries. Not all the Roman canon's movements are present in those works. Gabriel Fauret omitted "Dies irae"in the 19th century, while Benjamin Britten amalgamated canonic Latin texts with the English verses in his "Military Requiem" dating the 20th century. The Requiem's German tradition allows to resort to the Lutheran Bible's verses instead of the Latin ones. It took rather a long time to make the Requiem independent of the church service. Now it's affirmed as the mere musical genre. Slonimsky's Requiem is not initially implied as the part of some ritual. Lofty thoughts, repentance, the prayer of sins' redemption. The composer sets himself free of the canonic textual disposition, marking the most vital shades of meaning, which emotional kernel looks extremely burning for his mind.
Contributor:Frederik Bakker
This Requiem contains:
1 Lacrimosa 4:13
2 Dies Irae 3:21
3 Requiem Aetenam 7:14
4 Lux Aeterna 8:20
5 Tuba Mirum 5:00
6 Agnus Dei 4:58
7 Rex Tremendae Majestatis 2:01
8 Domine Jesu 2:27
9 Hostias 2:25
10 Sanctus 4:13
11 Benedictus 2:11
12 Libera Me 3:36
13 Kyrie Eleison 2:23
14 Lacrimosa 1:29