A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Matej Sojka
1740 - 1817
Czech Republic
No picture
M. Sojka
Matej Sojka (12/02/1740 - 13/03/1817), a Bohemian composer (from Vilemov, near Caslav), organist and church composer, pupil of Bach in Leipsic, and of Josef Seger in Prague ; he soon acquired reputation as one of the greatest virtuosi on his instrument, and received many offers of lucrative positions, but gratitude towards his patron, Count Caretto-Milesimo, who had taken care of his entire education, impelled him to remain in that nobleman's household, in his native place, where he played the organ and taught music. His compositions, comprising 300 works, rank high as specimens of contrapuntal perfection, clearness of ideas, and devotional feeling, in the style of Bach.
Source:The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Requiem (2x)
Period:Early Romanticism
Musical form:masses
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Matej Sojka wrote two Requiem masses.
Source:The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis