A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Jeff Smallman
1965 -
J. Smallman
Jeff Smallman (1965), a Canadian composer, born in Brantford (Ontario). Jeff Smallman began writing music at a very young age. He attended the University of Western Ontario and graduated with a degree in Theory and Composition. Mr. Smallman has written for a wide variety of groups, ranging from solo instruments to full orchestra and covering a range of styles. This variety of styles has led people to compare his music to such composers as Bach, Mozart, Ravel, Mahler, Poulenc, Ibert and Shostakovich. In 1991 Mr. Smallman was a finalist in the Search for New Music competition hosted by the Canadian Band Association. The work he submitted was his concert band piece Spirit of Adventure which is also available through Eighth Note Publications. Mr. Smallman has been commissioned to write many works. The numerous pieces he has written for schools, churches and individuals include works for concert band, solo flute, clarinet choir, saxophone quartet and over 20 pieces for various size choirs. His trumpet sextet Fanfare for Prince Henry was written for and accepted by the Prince and Princess of Wales in 1984. Performances of Mr. Smallman's compositions have been given throughout Canada, the United States and China and Hungary. Currently, Mr. Smallman is an organist and choir director at St. Martin-in-the-Fields Anglican Church in Southwestern Ontario where he has held that position for 12 years.
Period:21st century
Composed in:2001
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This requiem contains six movements:
01. Introit
02. Kyrie
03. Lacrymosa
04. Lux Aeterna
05. Hosanna
06. In Paradisum
This requiem is a combination of superb choral writing and colourful orchestration lead the listener from a time of quiet grief through acceptance to a peaceful hope. This work was premiered on November 2, 2001 in London, Ontario, Canada by the London Fanshawe Symphonic Chorus and Concert Players Orchestra under the direction of Gerald Fagan.
Six movements in total:
- Introit
Through-written, but using a recurring motive heard at the very beginning of the movement. Homophonic choral writing. At its conclusion, this movement moves directly into the Kyrie.
- Kyrie
A double fugue between choir and woodwinds. The first section features SATB soloists stating subject and countersubject. The middle section (Christe eleison) introduces the full choir. Concludes with full choir reiterating the opening subject.
- Lacrymosa
A mournful opening featuring basses and tenors. The middle section (Pie Jesu) is more peaceful and gives the sopranos and altos the place of importance.
- Lux Aeterna
This movement for SSAA only. Tremolo strings open this section, symbolizing shimmering light.
- Hosanna
Very energetic. Large range in dynamics. All sections of the orchestra are prominent at various times.
- In Paradisum
Beautiful contrast to Hosanna. Begins quietly with womenís voices and tremolo strings. Halfway through menís voices join along with brass and build to majestic climax before resolving to a peaceful conclusion.