A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Juan Ginés Pérez de la Parra
1548 - aft.1612
No picture
J.G. Perez
Gines Perez (07/10/1548 - aft.1612), a Spanish composer of mainly church music, born in Orihuella.
Author:Theo Willemze
Officium defunctorum
Period:High Renaissance
Composed in:1590
Musical form:officium
Text/libretto:daily prayers, psalms, hymns, lectures, etc.
Label(s):Ars Harmonica AH 081
LMG 2048
This officium contains:
01. Ginés Pérez - Miseremini fideles animarum. Motectum (a 5)[ministrils] 2:58
02. Ginés Pérez - Parce mihi, Domine.* Lectio I (a 5) 4:03
03. Ginés Pérez - Dilexi, quoniam exaudiet Dominus. Psalmus 114 (a 4) 4:03
04. Ginés Pérez - Domine Deus Omnipotens.* Motectum (a 5) 3:12
05. Ginés Pérez - Ad Dominum cum tribularer.* Psalmus 119 (a 4) 2:51
06. Sebastián Aguilera - Tiento de falsas de IV tono. [orgue] 4:46
07. Ginés Pérez - Levavi oculos meos in montes.* Psalmus 120 (a 4) 3:12
08. Joan Baptista Comes - In memoria aeterna.* Motectum (a 4). 3:14
09. Ginés Pérez - De profundis clamavi.* Psalmus 129 (a 4) 3:41
10. Ambrosio Cotes - Mortuus est Philippus Rex. Motectum (a 7). [ministrils] 4:22
11. Ginés Pérez - Confitebor tibi, Domine. Psalmus 137 (a 4) 4:38
12. Ginés Pérez - Magnificat.* Canticum (a 5) 5:44
13. Ginés Pérez - Requiescant in pace.* Versiculum (a 6) 0:45
Author:booklet of cd Ars Harmonica AH 081

♫ 13. Requiescant in pace
© Ars Harmonica AH 081
The music of the Office of the dead offered on the recording of Ars Harmonica is almost completely new in the disc world, and it consists in the complete collection of five vesper psalms with its own "Magnificat" and verse "Requiescant in pace", besides the first lesson "Parce mihi Domine" and two funeral motets of the author. All this music is preserved in the Valencia’s Cathedral, and also in other archives, having been published in 1896 by Felip Pedrell. In addition, inserted between the psalms have been included two funeral motets of Ambrosio Cotes (1550?-1603) –successor of Pérez in the Valencia’s cathedral- and Joan Baptista Comes (1582?-1643) –probable pupil and later chapel master of the Cathedral- and also a "Tiento de falsas" of Sebastián Aguilera de Heredia (1561-1627), a contemporary of Pérez.
Author:Francesc Villanueva; translation: Charles K. Moss
Autograph of G. Perez