A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Felipe Pedrell i Sabaté
1841 - 1922
F. Pedrell i Sabaté
Felipe Pedrell i Sabaté (18/02/1841 - 19/08/1922), a Spanish composer, from Tortosa. His first contacts with the music were as a singer of the choir of the cathedral of Tortosa. At the age of 15 years he composed a three voices Stabat Mater. In 1863 Pedrell went to Barcelona to follow musical studies, but later and pensioned by the Diputacions (Regional administrations) of Tarragona and Girona he went in 1876 to Rome and in 1877 to Paris to develop his capacities. Later in 1894 he moved to Madrid where in 1915 he was appointed as professor of Conservatory.
Because his trips to Italy and France, Pedrell was the first Catalan modernist musician to contact with foreign music, and that contact was essential to define his future musical tendencies as composer of cultivate and popular music. He was one of the firsts introducers of Wagner music in Catalonia and Spain.
As a leader of Catalan music renewal, he was the master of Enric Granados, Manuel de Falla, Robert Gerhard, Isaac Albéniz and other Catalan and Spanish musicians.
Pedrell also founded musicology schools in Catalonia and in Spain. He was a very active composer, developing all the musical stiles, an in addition of his operas, he was also the composer of a big quantity of lyric works, symphonic poems and religious and chamber music.
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This Requiem is for unaccompanied 4 part chorus.
Source:Grove's dictionary of music and musicians
Contributor:Maurice Blouin