A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
John Goss
1800 - 1880
Great Britain, England
Picture Picture Picture
J. Goss
Sir John Goss (27/12/1800 - 10/05/1880), an English organist and composer, born Fareham (Hamp­shire). He composed mostly church music. He was organist at St. Paul’s from 1838 onward. Queen Victoria knighted him in 1872. In 1876, Cambridge University awarded him a Doctor of Music degree. He also held the post of Professor of Harmony at the Royal Academy of Music for almost half a century.
Requiem in E minor
Period:Early Romanticism
Composed in:1827
Musical form:motet
This requiem motet in E minor is for six voices.
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis
Important requiem composers in the 19th century include Aiblinger, Andrevi y Castellar, Bochsa, Van Bree, Canetti, Catelani, Coccia, Fétis, Goss, Gounod, Habert, Mabellini, Meyerbeer, Neukomm, Pacini, Reinecke, Reissinger and Rheinberger.
Author:James W. Pruett
Source:The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians