A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Vincenzo Pellegrini
c.1562 - 1630
No picture
V. Pellegrini
Vincenzo Pellegrini (ca. 1562 - 23/08/1630), an Italian composer. He was born in Pesaro, c1562 and died in Milan, 23 August 1630. Vincenzo studied at the seminary in Pesaro and from 1594 he was a canon in the cityís cathedral of Pesaro. Pellegrini was appointed maestro di cappella of Milan Cathedral in 1611 and lived and worked there until his death. Pellegriniís sacred music has an austere and conservative style and can often been linked to late 16th century style in respecting the dictates of the Council of Trent (1543-1563). He wrote sacred music, some motets, organ and other instrumental music, canzonetís.
Author:Wim Goossens
Missa pro defunctis
Period:Late Renaissance
Composed in:1603c
Musical form:Missa quinque vocibus
Text/libretto:Latin mass Officium defunctorum
This five-movement requiem mass is scored for Superior, Alto, Tenor, Tenor and Bassus (SATTB) and the score (like all Renaissance requiems) is based on the corresponding melodies from the plainchant Mass for the Dead.
This Missa pro defunctis is published in: Missa pro Defunctis | cum quinque vocibus | Canonici Vincentii Pellegrini Pisaurensis | Venetiis apud Jacobum Vincenti 1629. and dal Libro a stampa n. 17 Ė Liber Primus Missarum Impressum in Coenobio Sacti Venetiarum 1603.
The survived movements of Pellegriniís Missa pro defunctis are:
01. Introit - Requiem aeternam
02. Kyrie, Christe, KyriŽ
03. Sequence - Dies irae
04. Sanctus & Benedictus
05. Agnus Dei
Author:Wim Goossens