Eugenejusz Walkiewicz
1880 - 1946
No picture
E. Walkiewicz
Eugenejusz [also: Eugeniusz] Walkiewicz (29/12/1880 - 05/11/1946), a Polish composer and organist; born in Ociejsc, Poland. Studied in Plock, Poland; Regentsburg, Germany, 1904-1906 under Haberl, Rener and Haler; in Munich, Germany, 1906-1908 under Motyl, Thule, Glut and Reger; came to U.S. before 1910 and settled in Plover, Wis., where he became an organist in the local parish. Some of his compositions are: "St. Josaphat's Mass," opus 45, for seven voices, a classical masterpiece; "Peasants opera"; "Judas opera"; "Quo Vadis opera"; masses; op. 46. 70, 43, 41, 21, 10, 50; he wrote over 500 compositions, majority of which are not yet published.
Missa pro Defunctis
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Missa pro Defunctis for three equal voices and organ.
Source:Robert Chase, Dies Irae: A Guide to Requiem Music, Scarecrow Press, Inc. 2003