A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Barrie Cabena
1933 -
Australia | Canada
H.B. Cabena
Harold Barrie [Barrie] Cabena (12/08/1933), an Australian-Canadian Organist, composer, born in Melbourne, Australia, naturalized Canadian 1966; ARCM organ 1955, ARCM teacher's 1956, FRCO 1956, FTCL 1959, honorary FRCCO 1973. He studied 1954-7 at the RCM with Sir John Dykes Bower (organ), W.S. Lloyd Webber (theory), Herbert Howells (composition), and Eric Harrison (piano). As music director 1957-75 at First St Andrew's Church, London, Ont, he began a regular series of recitals and presentations of church opera culminating in 1969 in the festival (which became annual) called The Church and the Arts. He has done some private teaching, and his best-known pupil probably is Jan Overduin. In 1970 he joined the department of music at Wilfrid Laurier University to teach organ and church music. He was president 1967-9 of the RCCO. A practising concert organist, he has given recitals and broadcasts in Canada, the USA, Australia, Great Britain, and Germany. He gave a series of recitals in the Canadian pavilion at Expo 67. His secure technique and resourceful use of registration are particularly effective in the 19th- and 20th-century repertoires. His compositions for organ, cast in various tonal-modal schemes, are distinguished by clear design, lucid counterpoint, and incisive rhythm. Within the same stylistic idiom, but of varying degrees of difficulty suitable to the purpose of each piece, he has written anthems, masses, service music, carols, and hymns. His compositional work has been the subject of master's and doctoral theses in Canada, the USA, and Australia. In 1972 for services to French music, he received the silver medal of the Académie française. Cabena is a member of the CLComp and an associate of the Canadian Music Centre.
Requiem for the victims of terrorism
Period:21st century
Composed in:2002
Musical form:free
Text/libretto:English and Latin
In memory of:victims of terrorism
Label(s):Chestnut Hall Music (only Consecration)
Requiem for the victims of terrorism is for 1 Soprano, 1 Tenor and Mixed chorus.
It contains:
01. Introit: "Do not burden your soul with grief" (composer)
02. Kyrie: Latin Ordinary (and composer)
03. Gradual: Psalm 23 (trans. Miles Coverdale)
04. Sequence: "Look not for justice" (composer)
05. Offertory: "We only learn the suffering of death" (A.M. Ege)
06. Sanctus and Benedictus: Latin Ordinary (and composer)
07. Consecration: "Only the lonely" (A.M. Ege)
08. Agnus Dei: Latin Ordinary (and composer)
09. Communion: "Are you the dead?" (A.M. Ege)
10. Litany: "In peace let us pray to the Lord" (composer)
11. Responsory: "May the healing peace of God" (composer)