A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
William David Maselli
1955 -
United States of America, NY
W.D. Maselli
William Maselli (29/08/1955), an American composer and conductor. He is a New York-based composer who has written principally for voice, including the song cycles Easter Songs, Dreams of Love, and Flowers. Maselli has also written an opera, Spirit Fire, dealing with subjects of politics, romance, eroticism, racial relations and spirituality against a backdrop of the French Revolution in Paris and early American life in New York and Monticello, Virginia, which is being recorded with soprano Adina Aaron, tenor Marc Heller, and bass Aaron Borst.
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis (picture)
John F. Kennedy: Requiem
Period:21st century
Composed in:2004
Musical form:free
Text/libretto:the composer himself
In memory of:John F. Kennedy
William Maselli, composer/conductor and founder of Krystal Classical Productions, presents the second anniversary performance of John F. Kennedy: Requiem, lyric Symphony in Song, Tuesday, November 22, 2005 at 8:00pm Society for Ethical Culture's Concert Hall 2 West 64th Street, New York City.
Following its 2004 premiere at Carnegie Hall's Weill Hall, Maselli's Kennedy: Requiem retums to commemorate John F. Kennedy's death. Representing the best in American contemporary music, as did the Kennedy White House with its noted devotion to the arts, Kennedy: Requiem incorporates diverse musical influences within a a traditional classical style.
Esteemed vocalists include Megan Weston, soprano; Edith Dowd, contralto; Eric Fennell, tenor and Aaron Borst, bass with Maselli conducting. When asked about the inspiration for this piece, Maselli comments, "I originally composed "Requiem" to capture an important social and political crossroad in the history of America and of the world. My objective is to speak to this generation of music-lovers who have moved far beyond popular culture yet feel cold and unmoved by musical styles born from other cultures."
Maselli's JFK: Requiem is the first in a series of upcoming concerts scheduled for 2006 performances at the New York Society for Ethical Culture's Concert Hall.
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis
John F. Kennedy: Requiem, lyric symphony in song contains:
01. See The Sun Rise
02. Reach For Freedom
03. The Struggle
04. Ice And Blackness
05. John
06. The Stone(Song of the male Spirits of Ancient Eire)
07. Truth Eternity(Song of the female Spirits of Ancient Eire)
08. Jasmine(Song of Rose)
09. Away From Love(Night Melody of a Young Girl)
10. Light and Love(A Wife’s Farewell)
11. Triumph Into Time
12. Immortal Mystery
13. Into Light
14. Creation’s Mystic Light
15. Transcendence
J.F. Kennedy