Augustin Plattner
c.1590 - c.1629
No picture
A. Plattner
Augustin Plattner (ca.1590 - ca.1629), a German composer and organist. The earliest surviving record is that of Plattner's marriage in the church of St Jakob, Innsbruck, on June 17, 1613. According to the foreword to his Missae octo vocum cum duplici basso ad organum applicato (Nuremberg, 1623/4; ed. in Denkmäler der Musik in Baden-Würtemberg, iii, Munich, 1995), Plattner's musical education was financed by Deutscher Orden. From 1621 he worked as organist to the Deutschherrn-Orden in Mergentheim (now Bad Mergentheim in Baden-Würtemberg), where he may have succeeded Andreas Lames. His masses are written for double choir, in the Venetian tradition. Of the eight masses one is a Missa sexti toni, one a Missa pro defunctis and the other six are parody masses, in which madrigals called Lieto godea and De fortuna, two motets Ad te, Domine, levavi and Isti sunt triumphatores, and the German melodies Christ ist erstanden and Joseph, lieber Joseph mein are used as material.
Missa pro defunctis
Period:Late Renaissance
Composed in:1624
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This Missa pro defunctis (1624) is part of Plattner's Missae octo vocum cum duplici basso ad organum.
Source:The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis