A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Vojtech Rihovsky
1871 - 1950
Czech Republic
V. Rihovsky
Vojtech Rihovsky -pseudonym: V.R. Dubsky (21/04/1871 - 15/09/1950), a Czech composer; born in Dub na Morave (Moravia), died in Prague, Czechoslovakia. After studies in Prague, he worked as an organist, choir master, violinist, violist, and advisor to a publishing house. He is mainly known for his sacred compositions and it is likely that he utilized his pen name to honor the sanctity of sacred work or for contractual reasons. Born in the Moravian village, Dub na Morave, "Dubsky" can be translated "from Dub", therefore, this name can be interpreted as Vojtech Rihovsky from Dub na Morave. He composed a significant body of works, number over 300.
Requiem (4x)
Musical form:masses
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Rihovsky wrote five requiem masses.
Source:The new Grove dictionary of music and musicians
Contributor:Tassos Dimitriadis and Vaclav Kohl
Requiem in D minor
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This Requiem in D minor is his opus 5.