A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Giacomo Puccini (sr.)
1712 - 1781
G. Pucinni sr.
Giacomo Puccini (sr.) (1712 - 05/1781), an Italian composer of mainly operas, born in Lucca.

(Don't confuse this Giacomo Puccini with the Giacomo Puccini, the great 19th/20th century composer of Tosca and Madama Butterfly.)
Source:Grove's dictionary of music and musicians
Messa di requiem
Composed in:1760c
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Label(s):Arte Nova 74321 98497 2
Requiem for 8 voices, strings and basso continuo. Length: 53'16.
The music of Giacomo Puccini "the elder" reflects, in a fascinating yet surprising way, many different styles simultaneously. This can be seen in his eight-part Requiem where he is not only a master of double contrapuntal fugues, wherein the melody line and 'soggetti' always mirror the sense of the text. Moreover, Puccini fits his polyphonic lines into an overall structure of two choral groups and orchestra. In contrast to these tutti sections, the solo's and duet's are composed either as a brillant 'concertante' movement or as typical 'galant' piece dominated by flourishing melodic lines which were in fashion in early Classical music. The Requiem ends with an "Agnus Dei" where Puccini employs a great variety of contrapuntal techniques above a 'Cantus Firmus' (the Gregorian chant melody) in the bass parts. With his ability to write in any style, ancient or modern, Puccini seemed to keep but one aesthetical ideal: that of expression, which his pupil Boccherini once described as: "La musica senza affetti, e passioni, insignificante" ("Music without emotions and passions is useless"). In this respect Puccini exhibits sheer endless inventiveness both in his harmonies, which include daring chromaticism, and melodic writing.
It contains:
- Requiem
- Kyrie
- Dies irae
- Quantus tremor
- Tuba mirum
- Mors stupebit
- Liber scriptus
- Rex tremendae
- Juste judex
- Qui Mariam absolvisti
- Preces meae
- Confutatis
- Oro supplex
- Lacrimosa
- Domine Jesu Christi
- Hostias et preces tibi
- Sanctus
- Benedictus - Agnus Dei
- Lux aeterna
Author:Joachim Fontaine