Juraj Filas
1955 - 2021
J. Filas
Juraj Filas (05/03/1955 31/12/2021), a Slovak composer. His work included more than 100 compositions: symphonies, cantatas, numerous compositions for chamber ensemble, as well as the prize-winning TV opera Memento Mori; a concerto grosso Copernicus; the opera Jane Eyre (2010); The Wisdom of the Wise Man, a cantata for choir, cello and organ; The Song of Solomon, a cantata for soli, choir and orchestra; and the requiem Oratio Spei, which was dedicated to the victims of terrorism.
Requiem Oratio spei
Period:21st century
Composed in:2002
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
In memory of:the deceased who ask for forgiveness, but with a consoling and optimistic twist
Oratio Spei (Prayer of Hope) for soprano, tenor, baritone, chorus and orchestra (2002). It is reminiscent of a traditional Latin Mass requiem for the deceased who ask for forgiveness, but with a consoling and optimistic twist.
It contains:
- Requiem Aeternam
- Kyrie
- Dies Irae
- Liber Scriptus
- Tuba Mirum
- Quid Sum Miser
- Rex Tremendae Majestatis
- Recordare
- Ingemisco
- Confutatis
- Lacrymosa
- Domine Jesu Christe
- Sed Signifer Sanctus Michael
- Hostias Et Preces Tibi
- Sanctus
- Agnus Dei
- Lux Aeterna
- Libera Me
- Armageddon
- Una Visone Mistica
- L'ultima Preghiera
Contributor:Arye Kendi