Louis Sauter
1955 -
France / United States of America, NY
L. Sauter
Louis Sauter (18/09/1955), an American-French amateur musician: pianist, singer and composer, born in Rome, New York. He left the USA when he was 5 years old and has lived most of his life in France. He is a communications engineer, holding a degree from Telecom Paris Tech and a Master of Science in Electrical Engineering from Texas A&M University. He began his career as a researcher in signal processing and multimedia, and then evolved towards managerial functions and consulting. He was the project manager of the Planck HFI Ground Segment, an astrophysics mission whose spectacular results have enriched our understanding of the universe. During his career, he has at times worked in relation with the world of music, most notably as a member of the Scientific Committee of the IRCAM and recently as a consultant in Yield Management applied to the Opera.
Period:21st century
Composed in:2013
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
In memory of:Henri Dutilleux
This Requiem (for Soprano, Bass, SATB chorus, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, English horn, 2 clarinets (B♭), bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contrabasson, 2 trumpets (B♭), 4 horns (F), 2 trombones, tuba (C), timpani, tam-tam, bass drum, celesta, harp, strings) contains:
01. Introitus (Adagio)
02. Kyrie (Adagio)
03. Dies irae (Andante)
04. Tuba mirum (Adagio)
05. Mors stupebit(Adagio)
06. Rex tremendae (Adagio)
07. Recordare (Adagio) - Confutatis (Moderato)
08. Lacrimosa (Adagio)
09. Domine Jesu (Andante)
10. Hostias (Adagio) - Sanctus (Andante)
11. Benedictus (Andante)
12. Agnus Dei (Allegretto)
13. Lux aeterna (Un poco Andante)

The overall work is dedicated to Henri Dutilleux (1916-2013), a French composer. Each section is in addition dedicated to a composer, a relative or a friend.
Henri Dutilleux