Aloys Schmitt
1788 - 1866
Picture Picture Picture
A. Schmitt
Aloys Schmitt (26/08/1788 - 25/07/1866), a German pianist, organist, and composer, born in Erlenbach, died in Frankfurt. Court organist Hanover 1825 1829. He composed operas, oratorio, symphonies, 4 pf. concs., chamber music. His son Georg Aloys Schmitt (1827 - 1902) was also a pianist and composer. He wrote 3 operas, chamber music, etc., and ed. and completed (1901) Mozart's Mass in C minor.
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:German texts
Requiem for four voices and organ in German texts.
Source:Dagny Wegner, Requiemvertonungen in Frankreich zwischen 1670 und 1850, Hamburg, 2005