A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Johann Christian Heinrich Rinck
1770 - 1846
Picture Picture
J.Chr.H. Rinck
Johann Christian Rinck (18/02/1770 - 07/08/1846), a German organist and composer, born in Elgersburg, Saxe-Gotha (Thuringia), Germany, died in Darmstadt, Germany. Johann Christian Heinrich Rinck [Rink] was a celebrated organist and composer for his instrument. His talent developed itself at an early period, and, like Johann Schneider, he had the advantage of a direct traditional reading of the works of J.S. Bach, having studied at Erfurt (in 1786-1789) under Kittel, one of the great composer's best pupils. Rinck, having sat at the feet of Forkel at the University of Göttingen, obtained in 1790 the organistship of Giessen, where he held several other musical appointments. In 1805 he became organist at Darmstadt, and 'professor' at its college; in 1813 was appointed court organist, and in 1817 chamber musician to the Grand Duke (Ludwig I). Rinck made several artistic tours in Germany, his playing always eliciting much admiration. At Treves, in 1827, he was greeted with special honour. He received various decorations - in 1831 membership of the Dutch Society for Encouragement of Music; in 1838 the cross of the first class from his Grand Duke; in 1840 'Doctor of Philosophy and Arts' from the University of Giessen. Out of Johann Christian Rinck's 125 works a few are for chamber, including sonatas for PF., violin, and violoncello, and PF. duets. But his reputation is based on his organ music, or rather on his 'Practical Organ School,' a standard work. Rinck's. compositions for his instrument show no trace of such sublime influence as might have been looked for from a pupil, in the second generation, of Bach; throughout them fugue-writing is conspicuous by its absence, but his organ-pieces contain much that is interesting to an organ student. Amongst his works the more important are the 'Practical Organ School,' in six divisions (op. 55, re-edited by Otto Dienel, 1881), and numerous 'Preludes for Chorales,' issued at various periods. He also composed for the church a Pater Noster for four voices -with organ (op. 59); motets, 'Praise the Lord' (op. 88) and 'God be merciful' (op. 109); twelve Chorals for men's voices, etc. His valuable library was purchased in 1852 y Lowell Mason of Boston, Mass., and since given to Yale.
Period:Early Romanticism
Composed in:1836
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
Requiem (1836) for TTBB choir and organ.
Source:Robert Chase, Dies Irae: A Guide to Requiem Music, Scarecrow Press, Inc. 2003