A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Francisco de Garro y de Yanguas
1556 - 1623
No picture
F. de Garro y
de Yanguas
Francisco de Garro y de Yanguas (1556 - 27/03/1623), a Spanish composer; born in Alfaro, Spain and died in Lisbon, Portugal. From 1592 he was mestre of the royal chapel in Lisbon, a post which he retained until his death.
Source:Bärenreiter's Allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik
Francisco de Garro (ca. 1556–1623) was born in Alfaro, Spain, and held the position of maestro de capilla (“master of the chapel”) at Sigüenza Cathedral until 1593. He then moved to the Court of Lisbon. Although there are numerous references to Garro in 16 th- and 17 th-century writings, no details concerning his life and work survive, save six letters between him and the Lisbon court regarding his employment and duties there. His two collections of liturgical works were published in Lisbon, and while there is evidence he published additional music in Castilian, Portuguese, and Latin, the 1609 volumes are his only known surviving music. His Parce mihi Domine for five voices sets a text from the Book of Job and is laid out in two clearly defined sections, the first comprised of a quietly beseeching plea for mercy, and the second a sudden flurry of activity.
Missa pro defunctis
Period:Late Renaissance
Composed in:1609
Musical form:mass
Text/libretto:Latin mass
This Missa pro defunctis (1609) is for 8 voices. Musical form and text: Latin mass, complete text. His musical style belongs to late renaissance.
Source:Bärenreiter's Allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik
Contributor:Hermann Puchta